An expository paper on the Favard length problem

In case there’s anyone here who’s interested in the Favard length problem, I have just finished an expository paper written for the proceedings of the 2012 Abel Symposium. There has been a good deal recent progress on the subject in recent years, starting with this 2008 paper by Nazarov, Peres and Volberg, through my paper with Zhai, two papers by Bond and Volberg, and most recently my paper with Bond and Volberg. This exposition focuses especially on the number-theoretic aspects of the question for rational product sets, developed mostly in the BLV paper, although some of it goes back to the earlier papers. You can think of it as BLV-lite if you wish.

I have tried to keep the exposition as simple as possible, omitting many of the technicalities and focusing on examples where we can deal with just one number-theoretic issue at a time (as opposed to BLV, where we must combine the different methods together). I’ve also added a good deal of discussion and commentary. This makes the paper a bit more verbose than what I’m used to, but most of this was written in response to questions that I have actually been asked, so I hope that this will be a useful companion paper to BLV and the other references. Also, I did have a deadline for this, so a couple of things (notably the “Poisson lemma” in Section 3.1) got short shrift, and I probably would have found a few more typos and other such if I’d had more time to chase them. Oh well.

There are a couple of new things at the end of the paper. One is Conjecture 4.6. Matt Bond and I came up with this while trying to figure out whether the assumption on the cardinalities of product sets in BLV can be dropped. If the conjecture turns out to be true, than we can indeed drop that assumption. We have some supporting evidence for various special cases, but we don’t know how to prove it in general.

The second part that has not been published previously concerns “random 4-corner sets”. Peres and Solomyak (Pacific J. Math. 2002) proved that for a randomized version of the 4-corner set construction, the expected Favard length asymptotics is in fact C/n. This is a very nice geometric argument, but I found the original proof quite hard to read, so I reworked and simplified it some time ago. This is included here in Section 5.

The paper can be downloaded here. It will also be posted on the arXiv, if I can figure out how to post LATEX files with pictures.

Comments Off on An expository paper on the Favard length problem

Filed under mathematics: research

Comments are closed.