Lhasa de Sela

This is absolutely not becoming a full-time music blog, but I have just learned today that Lhasa de Sela – who has been featured here before – died on New Year’s Day from cancer, at the age of 37.

According to news sources, she grew up on a converted school bus in the U.S. and Mexico, then lived in France before settling down in Montréal. She sang in English, French, and Spanish. On her trilingual The Living Road, she seemed to have a distinct personality in each language. I thought she was more convincing in French than in English, and I liked her best in Spanish even though I don’t speak the language at all. It fit her so well.

The YouTube comments, too, come in several languages. I’ll translate one from French: “My wife gave me her second CD [The Living Road] the evening before our first night. At the end of that evening I loved them both.” That’s how it worked with Lhasa. She was never a megaselling artist, but if you got hooked, that could go deep. She sure had me.

Comments Off on Lhasa de Sela

Filed under music

Comments are closed.