Because it’s summer, at last…

… it’s time for some summer music.

This band is called Nouvelle Vague. What they do is cover versions of 1980s new wave songs, bossanova-style. The first time I heard them was on a trip to Europe two years ago. I arrived at my destination late in the afternoon, cranky and tired, after 3 plane flights and over 20 hours of travel. The time difference between there and Vancouver was 9 hours. I hardly got any sleep that night and was wide awake again by 6:30 am. That’s when I heard this song on the radio. Quite unbelievably, it put me in a good mood for the rest of the day.

It’s my favourite Nouvelle Vague song, by far. The lead singer here is Gerald Toto, who also records solo and with various other groups. For an encore, here’s Gerald Toto again, this time in French:

Comments Off on Because it’s summer, at last…

Filed under music, vancouver weather

Comments are closed.