The last few days in Toronto

It’s spring at last, even in Toronto…

residential street in Toronto

… Yorkville is not too crowded on a weekday afternoon, but weekends are a different story…

Cumberland Street in Yorkville

… and if you’re at the right place on Bloor Street at the right time, you might see Aimee Mann playing a live show for free.

Aimee Mann at the Sonic Boom

It’s been a good semester. I have enjoyed the conferences and other organized activities (that’s where you learn things and get ideas), but also the quiet periods in between (that’s when you actually get the work done). It’s pretty quiet right now, and I have nothing else left to organize, so that I can actually focus on research.

There will likely be a separate post on thematic programs and on the joys of organizing one. Right now I’ll just say that this has been great for my own research program. When you’re isolated – as I was for several years – it’s hard to keep up with what everyone else is doing, and perhaps even harder to stay motivated. Now I’m enjoying mathematics more than I have in years.

A few more Toronto photos under the cut.

Centre Beach, Toronto Island Park.

yes, this is a swimming area

Two residents of Centre Island.

here's looking at ya

A flower bed on Madison Street.

flowers in Toronto

Comments Off on The last few days in Toronto

Filed under mathematics: general, photography, toronto weather

Comments are closed.